The College of New Jersey Board of Trustees March 27, 2018 216/224 Brower Student Center 9:00am

Minutes of the Public Meeting

Present: Jorge Caballero, Chair; Susanne Svizeny, Vice Chair; Eleanor Horne; Rosie Hymerling; Brian Markison; Carl Gibbs, Treby Williams,

Not Present: Robert Altman, Brad Brewster, Fred Keating, Miles Powell, Rebecca Ostrov,

- I. Announcement of Compliance
 - A. It is hereby announced and recorded that the requirement of the Open Public Meetings Act as to proper notification as to time and place of meeting have been satisfied.
- II. Motion to go into Closed Session

It is moved by Ms. Svizeny, seconded by Mr. Gibbs, that the Board go into closed session to discuss personnel actions including appointment of the president, an item exempt under the Open Public Meetings Act.

- III. Closed Session
- IV. Resumption of the Public Session
- V. New Business
 - A. Resolution Appointing the President of The College of New Jersey Attachment A

It was moved by Ms. Svizeny, seconded by Ms. Williams that the resolution be approved. The motion passed unanimously.

VI. Adjournment

Respectfully submitted,

Heather M. Fehn
Chief of Staff and Secretary
to the Board of Trustees

The College of New Jersey Board of Trustees March 27, 2018 216/224 Brower Student Center 9:00 am

I.	Announcement of Compliance
	A. It is hereby announced and recorded that the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act as to proper notification as to time and place of meeting have been satisfied
II.	It is moved by, seconded by, that the Board go into closed session to discuss personnel actions including appointment of the president, an item exempt under the Open Public Meetings Act.
III.	Closed Session
IV.	Resumption of Public Session
V.	New Business
	A. Resolution Appointing the President of The College of New Jersey
VI.	Adjournment

Board of Trustees Resolution Appointing the President of The College of New Jersey

Whereas: On July 11, 2017, Dr. R. Barbara Gitenstein announced her intention to leave the

presidency of The College of New Jersey, effective June 30, 2018; and

Whereas: On September 18, 2017, the Chair of the Board of Trustees convened the

Presidential Search Committee and charged it with identifying a highly qualified

candidate to lead TCNJ in the coming years; and

Whereas: Throughout the search process, the Presidential Search Committee and its

consultants solicited input from all TCNJ constituents to develop a leadership

agenda and identify the qualities sought in the candidates; and

Whereas: The Presidential Search Committee worked meticulously and tirelessly, always

relying on this leadership agenda, to review applications, interview candidates,

and engage with references; and

Whereas: The Presidential Search Committee advanced three finalists who engaged with a

variety of constituents across the campus community in order to determine the

best fit of these candidates with the campus community; and

Whereas: Upon the completion of an overall assessment by the Presidential Search

Committee, including the feedback from the community constituents, the

Presidential Search Committee has presented its recommendation to the Board of

Trustees that Dr. Kathryn Foster be appointed the sixteenth President of The

College of New Jersey; and

Whereas: The Board of Trustees has carefully considered the recommendation of the

Presidential Search Committee; and

Whereas: Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 18A:60-16.b and in accordance with Memorandum of

Agreement #112 Procedures for Awarding Tenure at Appointment at The College

of New Jersey to Previously Tenured Faculty in an Administrative Faculty Position, Susanne Svizeny, Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, acting

upon the positive recommendations of the Political Science Department

Promotion and Reappointment Committee, Dean of the School of Humanities and

Social Sciences, and Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, has recommended to the Board of Trustees that Dr. Kathryn A. Foster be appointed

Professor of Political Science with tenure upon hire.

Therefore, Be It

Resolved: The Board of Trustees hereby approves the recommendation of the Presidential

Search Committee and appoints Dr. Kathryn A. Foster as the President of The College of New Jersey and hereby approves the recommendation of Provost Taylor and assigns Dr. Foster the rank of Professor of Political Science with

tenure, effective July 1, 2018, and

Be It Further

Resolved: That the Board of Trustees hereby approves the agreement of terms and

conditions of employment as specified by the Chair of the Board with Dr. Foster for the position of president and authorizes the Chair, and at the Chair's direction, other officers of the Board and of the College to execute all necessary documents

in connection therewith.